Home

Welcome to the official author website of Jennifer J. Chow! 

Author Jennifer J. Chow in a red qipao

Ill-Fated Fortune

The first in the heart-warming and deliciously mysterious Magical Fortune Cookie series from Lefty Award-nominee Jennifer J. Chow.

Felicity Jin grew up literally hanging onto Mom’s apron strings in their magical bakery in the quaint town of Pixie, California. Her mother’s enchanted baked goods, including puffy pineapple buns and creamy egg tarts, bring instant joy to all who consume them. Felicity has always been hesitant in the kitchen herself after many failed attempts, but a takeout meal gone wrong inspires her to craft some
handmade fortune cookies.

They become so popular that Felicity runs out of generic fortunes and starts making her own personalized predictions. When one customer’s ill-fated fortune results in his murder, Felicity’s suspiciously specific fortune has the police focusing on her as the main culprit. Now Felicity must find a way to turn her luck around and get cleared from suspicion.

PRAISE FOR ILL-FATED FORTUNE:

“This first in a new series featuring a likable Chinese American heroine will appeal to fans of Jenn McKinlay, Eve Calder, or Joanne Fluke.” ―Booklist

“A magical new culinary cozy mystery series filled with family, friendship, and heart―and a pinch of real magic.” ―Gigi Pandian, USA Today bestselling author of the Secret Staircase Mysteries

Ill-Fated Fortune expertly combines magic and murder. This story is an absolute treat that you’ll want to binge read.” ―Olivia Matthews, author of the Spice Isle Bakery Mysteries

“Combine one magical baker with a ruthless baking rival. Add a custom-made fortune that seemingly predicts death and mix well. Toss in a skeptical police officer and a well-crafted cast of characters with plenty of delightful cultural touches and you have a well-baked culinary cozy mystery. Ill-Fated Fortune is a deliciously magical culinary cozy that will leave you hungry for the next delectable installment in this new series by Jennifer J. Chow.” —Valerie Burns, Agatha, Anthony, Edgar, and Next Generation Award finalist

“Charming isn’t adequate to describe Jennifer J. Chow’s series debut, Ill-Fated Fortune. I was immediately pulled into the story by the powerful first line and an instant, deep connection to the narrator. There is real magic in this story—and not just from the baking skills of Felicity and her mom. Along with the terrific writing, I was treated (and it was nearly as good as those fortune cookies sound) to a glimpse into a culture and place that I didn’t know. This book contains so many elements readers will love. Plus a fun mystery. Pre-order this right away! A new series is about to be born.” —Carolyn Haines, USA Today bestselling author of the Sara Booth Delaney series